My all time favorite Food movies

Movies! It is quite convenient might I also add a bit heavier on the pocket to go to the movies these days. Back in the good old days while I was growing up, I would be quite excited to go to the movies. Now, my parents had entirely opposite views on movies.  My mom absolutely loved going to the movies and my dad on the other hand would eventually get his beauty sleep if he ever found himself in a talkies.

I don’t remember my first movie experience but i have heard the funny rendition by my mother. It was my parents first movie after I was born, circa 1986.  The three of us were watching this movie when suddenly a loud cry pierced the walls of the auditorium. All heads turned to us. Hmm. I have no recollection as to why I was crying uncontrollably and my parents had to leave within an hour of the movie. Maybe movies were not my cup of tea.

Not really, I started to enjoy movies as I was growing up and share a good laugh with my family and friends. We would rent the VHS cassettes and have a girls night in during our school holidays. It used to be so much fun. As I gained entry into college my taste developed further and I enjoyed watching movies from all over the world. I learnt to appreciate action movies at a time when I was going through a very tough time and they proved to be a much needed distraction. There are indeed such amazing and beautiful movies out there that I still need to explore.

Having said that, I have watched the most movies at a stretch over the last three years of my life. For no specific reason though. I went for a movie  once and just entered a lucky jackpot competition so as to not offend my friend. I never won anything before and I was so ecstatic when I won 12 movie tickets for 2! yay!  I used all of them pretty soon. 😀 I’m not a movie addict but I do enjoy a good movie now and then.

So when I saw the trailer of Chef I was waiting eagerly for its release. Lagging behind by 2 months!Uff!  As they say, “Good things come to those who wait” 😉 I’ve  watched it over the weekend and wanted to share my experience with you all. That thought has now transcended into this long post and I hope I haven’t bored you here.

Below I present to you some of my favorite food movies amongst others such as Eat Man Drink Woman, Like Water for Chocolate.

10. Marie Antoinette
Maybe this movie might not strike one as a movie based on food. However, for me this movie tries to portray the opulence that the French royalty lived in before the French Revolution. The movie showcases the grandeur of the food that was created in an artistic manner served at banquets to the French royalty. The pastries in the movie are decadently gorgeous and so inspiring in a way. I would love to have chic looking choux puffs and tartelletes as the centre piece for my dining table too! And who wouldn’t want to be surrounded by luscious looking exquisite cakes all day? 😉
The movie is definitely a lot about style, fashion and food. Kirsten Dunst is perfect and brings alive the wonderful, stunning colors. The movie is funny and quirky in its own way.

Can you imagine having macarons at the foot of your bed? See for yourself!

 

9. Today’s special
It is the story of a chef’s journey from working in French haute cuisine to mastering the art of Indian cooking. With a brilliant performance from Naseerudidn Shah as a cab driver and a gourmet cook, the movie showcases that the most necessary ingredient to cooking good food is to cook from the heart. As Mr Shah says, ” a recipe is like a raaga”. This is so true especially when it comes to Indian cooking, the medley of spices come along to create a harmonious symphony. The protagonist, a fine Sous Chef finds his calling in Indian food and in the process also realizes the importance of family. He cooks from heart and not his brain anymore and turns his dad’s failed restaurant to a huge success.
All in all, it’s a good movie.

todays special

8. No Reservations
This movie is based on a German movie Mostly Martha and there are striking resemblances between the too. Catherine Zeta Jones, a very ambitious and overly passionate chef lives a life solely revolving around food. The movie portrays a dramatic sequence about how a tragedy changes her life and ultimately has her falling in love. Taking her deceased sister’s child in her care, she evolves into a person who learns to live life with much more enthusiasm and sees there is more to life beyond food. Cooking food together brings them closer and becomes a source of happiness in their lives.

No Reservations

No Reservations

7. Charlie and Chocolate Factory
Based on the book by Roald Dahl, this is not a movie for kids alone. Johnny Depp never fails to mesmerize me. Furthermore, the kid is such a genuine, humble , big-hearted boy that you will undoubtedly  love him. The eccentricity of the chocolatier  Willy Wonka is superbly captured in the delicious chocolate factory with chocolate waterfall!  The author has so cleverly tried to induce moral values in children through this exotic world of chocolate and candy. Not a kid any more, but I can watch it again and again. 😉

charliemovieposter

6. Lunchbox
Quoting from the movie, “Kabhi kabhi galat train bhi sahi Jagah pahucha deti hai.” Literally translated it means that sometimes even the wrong train can take you to the right destination. For me this dialogue sums up the entire movie in just one sentence. But then that would not do justice to such an exemplary Hindi movie which showcases romance from an entirely different point of view.

The female lead played by Nirmat Kaur, is a young homemaker attempting to reignite romance in her married life and she chooses food to be the medium to do so. She prepares special “lunchbox” to be delivered to her husband at work by the famous Mumbai dabbawalas who are famed for their impeccable service. Meanwhile, fate has some other plans and the lunchbox is delivered to Irfan Pathan who is almost nearing his retirement age. Intrigued, both of them start corresponding via notes in the lunchbox and gradually love starts to blossom. I love that the makers of this movie have illustrated love in a humorous as well as philosophically entertaining way. Nimrat expresses her emotions through her food when she puts a lot of chilli because she gets angry upset and also sends an empty lunch box once to show her disappointment. It very well depicts the age old belief that a way to a mans heart is through his stomach.

The script leaves you wondering what could have happened next. Personally, I would have loved to see a different climax though. 🙂

To be Continued soon!

Hope you are having a wonderful week! 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “My all time favorite Food movies

  1. Lovely list Radhika! I have to check some of these out and others are already favorites 🙂 You should check out ‘Babette’s Feast’. Its a Danish movie that won the Oscar for best foreign film some years ago.

    Like

  2. I have seen 4 out of 5, missed Marie Antoinette. Now that you recommend I will try to get hold of it. Great post Radhika. What a refreshing change to blog something else other than food once in a while.

    Like

  3. Oh I just love this post Radhi…I too, love a good foodie movie! I’ve seen 4 of the 5 movies…really want to check out “The Lunch Box” now! 🙂 “The Hundred Food Journey” is out and I so want to see that too!

    Like

  4. Radhika, food and movies connected haven’t given it so much thought . Wow!!! Nice to know how much you love both 🙂 Same here but never connected them 🙂

    Like

  5. Ohhhh I love No Reservations, I have watched a few times already 😀 I also love Marie Antoinette!! Have you ever watched Ratatouille?

    Like

Would you like to share your thoughts with me? Please feel free to pen down a few of your precious words.

